Korean Currency – Korean Won

Korean Currecny 1,000 won, 5,000 won, 10,000 won and 50,000 won

Korean Currency the Won

The Korean Currency / Money of South Korea is the Won ₩. The Won (Korean currency) has been in use for thousands of years. During the Japanese Occupation of Korea the Korean currency was changed from the Korean Won to the Korean Yen. After gaining independence from Japan the Won became the Korean currency again.

Currently the Korean Currency, Won consists of 4 Bank notes (1,000 won, 5,000 won, 10,000 won, and 50,000 won) and 6 coins (1, 5, 10, 50, 100, 500) although the 1 won and 5 won coin are hard to find in circulation today. Usually prices are rounded to the nearest 10 won.

The latest note to be added to circulation to the Korean currency is the 50,000 won note. This note began circulation on June 23rd, 2009. The portrait on the 50,000 won note is that of Shin Saimdang and the first woman to be featured on a South Korean Won note.

The 10,000 won note has a portrait of King Sejong the Great. A king from the Joseon Dynasty.

The 5,000 won note has a portrait of Yi I, an important scholar during the Joseon Dynasty. His mother is on the 50,000 won note.

The 1,000 won note has a portrait of Yi Hwang, also an important scholar of the Joseon Dynasty.