Ewha Womans University

Ewha Womans University

Ewha Womans University

Ewha Womans University was founded in May, 1886 by Mary F. Scranton. She opened the school in her house in Jeong-dong with only one student. The first student was Kim, a high-ranking official’s concubine, but she left three months later. The first permanent student was a girl (Kkon-nim) from the street whose mother had typhus; and her second student was an orphan. In 1887, King Gojong named the school “Ehwa Haktang” or “pear blossom.” In the evenings, the school was the boarding home for the children and on Sundays, the children went to church in nearby Jeongdong Methodist Church.

In 1910, a 4-year college course was established but in 1943 during the Japanese colonial rule, the school was deprived of its name “Ewha” and was downgraded to a 1-year course institute. In 1935, Ewha College was relocated to the current Sinchon campus.

In 1946, one year after the nation’s liberation, Ewha became the first four-year university to be officially accredited by the government. In the 1950s, Ewha boldly introduced disciplines considered unsuitable for women at the time, such as medicine, law, science and journalism.

Currently Ewha Womans University is one of the top ten universities in Korea.
The campus is very beautiful, modern and well-kept. On the campus you can find the Ewha Museum, rest areas, lots of grass and a football field. Ewha Campus center is quite amazing. It is located underground from the B-6 floor to the first floor. See picture below.

How to get to Ewha Womans Unicersity:
Take line to Ewha Womans University station and leave exit 2 or 3 and continue walking straight until you reach the university.

View larger map

Your Thoughts: